The American Fire Sprinkler Association awarded scholarships to 10 high school graduating seniors. These national winners were randomly selected from 65,570 students who entered to receive a one-time $2,000 AFSA scholarship payable to their respective college, university or trade school.

The 2015 winners are:

  • Clara Cohoon, Prosper, Texas;
  • Ethan Erauw, Jonesboro, Ark.;
  • Zachary Like, Little Rock, Ark.;
  • Carlos Menzie, Bridgeport, Conn.;
  • Aaron Pietraallo, Magnolia, N.C.;
  • Hayley Rein, Brooklyn, N.Y.;
  • Ashley Milan, Myrtle Beach, S.C.;
  • Shana Smith, Pembroke Pines, Fla.;
  • Krystelle Thomas, Queens, N.Y.; and
  • Veronica Werve, Kempner, Texas.

To be eligible, applicants must be a current high school senior planning to attend a U.S. college, university or trade school in the coming fall. Applicants are required to read a passage about fire sprinklers — which describes their history, how they operate to save lives and property, and the types of careers that are available in the industry — and take a 10-question reading comprehension test. For each question answered correctly, the student receives one entry into a drawing for one of ten $2,000 scholarships.

AFSA also offers a $5,000 Second Chance Scholarship Contest, which is open to anyone who has graduated high school or the equivalent and wants to pursue a college degree or trade school education. The 2015 Second Chance Scholarship will award five $1,000 scholarships and is accepting applications through Aug. 26 at