Andrew Deckert, 2010 winner of the Frank Blau Jr. Award

The Nexstar Legacy Foundation announced its 2010-2011 scholarship award winners March 20 during its Owners’ Spotlight Series held in Clearwater, Fla. Out of 150 applications, seven students received scholarships ranging from $1,000 to $6,000 to pursue education in preparation for careers within the plumbing, HVAC and electrical industries.

Scholarships are awarded based upon merit, chosen by a scholarship selection committee comprised of industry leaders from inside and outside the organization. The largest annual award is the $6,000 Frank Blau Jr. Award, named after Nexstar co-founder andPMcolumnistFrank Blau Jr.This year’s recipient isAndrew Deckert(Green Bay, Wis.), pictured, attending Michigan Technological University.

Other scholarship winners are:

  • Apprenticeship ($1,000): James Fingerman (San Diego), attending Thomas Edison State College.

  • Technical College ($2,000 each):

    - Kal Gossett (Corning, N.Y.), attending Lincoln Technical Institute.

    - Lincoln Deitrick  (Zanesville, Ohio), attending the University of Northwestern Ohio.      

  • Four-Year College ($3,000 each):

    - Sarah Masters (Allendale, N.J.); school unconfirmed.

    - Graham Thurber (Topeka, Kan.), attending Washburn University.

    - Jesse Thornburg  (Cambridge, Mass.), attending Massachusetts Institute of Technology.

    For more information on the Nexstar Legacy Foundation or to make a donation, go to or contact Renee Cardarelle at 651/789-8518 or

  • Links