A number of decisions were made during the course of the PHCC-National Association's 121st Annual Convention, Sept. 29-Oct. 3, in Las Vegas:

• Jim Stack, Stack Plumbing Inc., Kirkland, Wash., was elected the association's new vice president at the annual business meeting. Stack has served on the national PHCC board of directors, and has been on the board of directors for the PHCC of Washington and the local association since 1987. He also has chaired various PHCC committees. Stack has been actively working in the industry for 30 years. He has owned and operated a small family plumbing business since 1983.

• Karl Bykowski, John W. Danforth Co., Tonawanda, N.Y., earned the 2003 Col. George D. Scott Meritorious Service Award for his many years in service to the association and industry. The award is named after the association's first president.

• Mark Giebelhaus, Marlin Mechanical Corp., Phoenix, was awarded Plumbing Contractor of the Year. In addition to serving two terms as president of PHCC-Arizona, Giebelhaus has been active with the Arizona Subcontractors Council since its inception as a board member, legislative committee chairman and president.

Three PHCC-National Association contractors received runners-up honors: Frank Maddalon, Hamilton, N.J. (first runner-up); Milton Frank, Spring, Texas (second runner-up); and Mike Pfeffer, Rochester, Minn. (third runner-up).

Candidates for “Plumbing Contractor of the Year” are evaluated by an independent council of PHCC-NA board members using a 100-point system that weighs their accomplishments in six areas: professionalism, merchandising skills, management skills, innovative plumbing skills, trade involvement and community service.

• Manuel Oroz, Las Vegas, was named Plumbing Apprentice of the Year, a recognition of his excellent work ethic and plumbing proficiency. Described by his peers as “very proficient in plumbing code knowledge,” Oroz is currently a fourth-year apprentice in the Plumbing and Mechanical Contractors Association of Nevada, Joint Apprenticeship Training Program.

The PHCC-National Association's Apprentice and Journeyman Training Committee evaluated dozens of nominations for Plumbing Apprentice of the Year and awarded the recipient, Oroz, a $2,000 scholarship and a check for $500, along with a trophy.

• Lynn Lamont Heidler, Annapolis, Md., won the Larry Dore Auxiliary Member of the Year Award, with Louise Schumacher, Clermont, Ill., as runner-up. Betty Jean Berlin, Monroe, La., won the Auxiliary's 3-D Award.

In addition to these awards presented at PHCC Auxiliary's In-Sink-Erator lunch, winners of the Robert M. Cox Image and Recruitment Awards were announced.

First place in the image category was the Metro Washington, D.C., auxiliary chapter. Second place went to the Delaware chapter. In the recruitment category, first place went to the Delaware chapter. Second place was the Pinellas Park, Fla., group.

Delta Scholarship Winners

At a luncheon ceremony on Sept. 30, Delta Faucet Co. announced the recipients of its six $2,500 scholarships.

Recipients of scholarships as part of a four-year college education are: Jordan Helget, Ellis, Kan.; Scott J. Lynch, North Grafton, Mass.; David Taecker, Watertown, S.D.; Bradley White, South Bend, Ind.; and Michael Leeds Heidler, Annapolis, Md. The scholarship recipient attending a two-year college is Amy Sparacino, Las Vegas.