oil heat body


The National Association of Oil & Energy Service Professionals hosted its 60th convention and trade show May 19-23, in Hershey, Pa. Its “Racing Towards Education” theme gave attendees the Triple Crown of education, new products and networking.

“With milestones, you have the opportunity to reflect upon ‘the way it was’ and ponder the future, said OESP Executive Director Judy Garber. “We are evolving right alongside the industry and are here for our members with support and training for their continued success.”

During the convention, the Oil Heat Cares’ Care to Ride event raised $53,500 for oil-heating equipment replacements for homeowners in need. The top fundraisers were: Ralph Adams (motorcycle division), Roger Marran (bicycle division and highest individual fundraiser), Team Connecticut (highest team fundraiser) and Judy Garber (walking division). Team Connecticut took home the Oil Heat Cares Cup.

OESP delivered on its mission of education with a busy schedule of classes. Tim Begoske of Field Controls led a Train-the-Trainer session on venting. New presenter and PM columnist Ray Wohlfarth discussedboiler room safety. Other course topics included improving profitability in service, understanding efficiencies, electrical consumption, zoning, schematics, mini-splits, oil pumps, A/C evaluating and testing, ECM, wireless technology, gas heat, troubleshooting high-efficiency equipment, radiant heating, learning for trainers, heat gain and loss, and a NORA tank update.

Attendees also had the chance to earn NATE and NORA certification with review courses followed by exams.

“While we will never forget our strong past in the fuel oil industry, we must adapt and evolve with new challenges that we face in the HVAC and petroleum supply businesses,” OESP National President Al Breda said. “Taking advantage of the education that is offered by OESP is one way to stay out front.”



OESP honored professionals and scholarship recipients at the awards banquet, after a Taco-sponsored cocktail party. This year’s winners are:

Hugh McKee Award:Charlie Bursey and Paul Cuprewich

• Instructor of the Year:Angel Gonzalez

• Lifetime Achievement Award:Steve Rinaldo

• Lou Ehrich Award:Rick Glownia

• Manufacturer of the Year:Bock Water Heaters

• Service Manager of the Year:Bob Daros

The Dave Nelsen Scholarship winners are:

Zachary Baylor (R.W. Beckett Corp. sponsor)

Roger Bruso(R. E. Michel Co. sponsor)

Alrick Crowe(Honeywell sponsor)

Samuel Gumbert(Boston-Southeast Chapter sponsor)

Nicholas Micheletti(Taco sponsor)

Patrick McConnell(Weil-McLain sponsor)

Robert Papale(Mid Atlantic Service Managers Award)

OESP will explore a new trade show format for 2014 with two events: one at Mohegan Sun in Connecticut from May 12-13 and the other in Gettysburg, Pa., from Sept. 22-23.

 “Our 2014 pilot plan is to host two regional events vs. one trade show,” Garber explained. “The emphasis will be on training with a focus on new products and services. We will also be offering more on-the-road training as well.”