The American Fire Sprinkler Association (AFSA) announced its 2014 scholarship winners: Sara Desrocher, Eagan, Minn.; Kate Gavigan, Dallas; Jennifer Gohlke, Pewaukee, Wis.; Angelika Lowder, Army Post Office, Army Europe; Juana Moreno-Espinoza, Santa Ana, Calif.; Robert Pugh, Montgomery, Ala.; Erin Saaranen, Bloomington, Minn.; Su Trinh, Garland, Texas; George Vang, St. Paul, Minn.; and Tyler Woody, Central, S.C.

These national winners were randomly selected from nearly 58,000 high school students who participated in an online contest designed to educate students about fire sprinklers in general, fire protection in college residences and potential careers in the fire protection industry. Contest winners receive a one-time $2,000 scholarship payable to their respective college, university or trade school.

Applicants are required to read a passage about fire and take a 10-question reading comprehension test. For each question answered correctly, the student receives one entry into a drawing for one of 10 scholarships. A total of 10 entries per applicant into the drawing are possible.

AFSA also offers a $5,000 Second Chance Scholarship Contest, which is not limited to high school seniors. Those who have graduated high school or equivalency and want to pursue a college degree or trade school education — including returning military and parents returning to the workforce — may enter. The 2014 Second Chance Scholarship, which will award five $1,000 scholarships, is accepting applications through noon CST Aug. 27 at


American Fire Sprinkler Association (AFSA)

Follow PM on Twitter!

Find PM on Facebook!

Join PM on LinkedIn!

PM is on Google+