Safety awards given to industry contractors.

  • The Lake and McHenry (Ill.) Plumbing, Heating & Cooling Contractors Association presented four members with its 2003 Commitment to a Safe Workplace Award: Colette & Ano Plumbing Co. (Antioch, Ill.); Dankris Industries (McHenry, Ill.); Ernie Peterson Plumbing (Waukegan, Ill.); and Sherman Mechanical (Cary, Ill.).

    The award recognizes safety improvements made over the last three years in at least four out of six categories, such as lost workdays and workers' compensation resolutions.

  • Nine members of the Plumbing & Mechanical Contractors Association of Northern Illinois have won its Commitment To A Safe Workplace Award for 2003: Abbott Industries (Bensenville, Ill.); Roughneck Concrete Drilling & Sawing Co. (Morton Grove, Ill.); Chicago Backflow Inc. (Alsip, Ill.); Mechanical Inc. (Freeport, Ill.); AMS Mechanical Systems (Burr Ridge, Ill.); Franks Mechanical Contractors (Elk Grove Village, Ill.); J. L. Wagner Plumbing & Piping (St. Charles, Ill.); Paul Buddy Plumbing & Heating (Aurora, Ill.); and Professional Plumbing (Barrington, Ill.).

  • North Shore Mechanical Contractors of Topsfield, Mass., recently received the Platinum Safety Training and Evaluation Process Award from the Association Builders and Contractors. It is awarded annually to ABC members based on number of employees and man-hours worked, a review of OSHA 300 logs and company safety policies, a numerical score based on management supervision, evaluation of certifications, zero fatality rate and no repeat willful violations over the previous three years.

  • The Wisconsin Council of Safety presented Green Bay, Wis.-based Tweet/Garot Mechanical and Fond du Lac, Wis.-based J.F. Ahern Co. with the 2003 Wisconsin Corporate Safety Award. This is the fourth consecutive year Tweet/Garot has received the award; J.F. Ahern has received the award three out of the last six years.