American Supply Association Director of Codes and Standards Jim Kendzel, MPH, CAE, was named the recipient of the IAPMO Joseph Kneidinger Sustainability Professional of the Year Award. 

The Joseph Kneidinger Sustainability Professional of the Year Award is presented to the professional that best fulfills or symbolizes the commitment to environmental sustainability. The nominated professional must be an IAPMO member.  

The board selects the recipient at its spring meeting and is presented at the IAPMO annual education and business conference.  

“I am humbled and honored to receive this award,” Kendzel said. “I have spent almost my entire career devoted to the development of codes and standards that have a positive impact on public health and the environment, and have been involved in sustainability activities.”

Kendzel most recently worked with a group of committed IAPMO volunteers as the chair of the WE-Stand Alternate Water Source Task Group, which led to critically needed revisions to the WE-Stand model code covering black water and storm water recycling systems.

“I accept this award on behalf of my children and grandchildren which is why we devote our efforts to environmental sustainability,” Kendzel added.

IAPMO CEO Dave Viola noted IAPMO leadership recognized the enormous contributions Kendzel has made to the industry and specifically to WE-Stand.  

“The task group leadership Jim provided was extremely valuable and appreciated,” Viola said. “The work will be the foundation for our industry’s contribution to ensure we meet all the environmental challenges ahead of us. IAPMO thanks Jim Kendzel for his work and dedication and congratulates him on this well-earned recognition.”