ISH North America drew 13,456 from 40 countries; Various participating organizations announce news, awards and install new officers.

Attendance at ISH North America, Oct. 14-16, Boston, was up 14 percent from last year's show, with a total registration of 13,456 people from more than 40 countries. The third edition of the trade show also featured 537 exhibitors from 16 countries.

Some of the show highlights include the following:

New Product Showcase

The competition featuring products among exhibitors grew to more than 100 separate products. The Best Overall Product went to NVent's PermaLynx, a press-to-connect small-diameter copper pipe joining system developed by a joint venture between NIBCO Inc. and Victaulic. The NVent system also won in the Plumbing & Piping category. Awards for other categories went to the following exhibitors:
    K&B: Elkay's line of stainless-steel sinks;
    HVAC: Armstrong's E12+E14 circulator;
    Software: Perfinex's Techsoft;
    Tools: Tools That Rock's ladder tray; and
    Hydronics: DeDietrich's GTI 4-120 boiler, burner and control panel.

PHCC-NA Logo Partners

New England-based wholesaler F.W. Webb and In-Sink-Erator became the latest partners in the Plumbing-Heating-Cooling Contractors-National Association's Logo Partner Program.

Webb will display the PHCC-NA logo on its private label line of PurePro faucets. In addition, Webb also will apply a portion of the PurePro sales price as credit toward the dues of the PHCC-NA member who purchased the products. The faucets include features that contractors want, including a brass stem, ceramic disc, brass pop-up, brass and copper waterways, and single cartridges.

In-Sink-Erator will include the PHCC-NA logo on the boxes of several of its products, including the models Pro SS and Pro 77. The logoed products include upgraded features, such as auto reverse, silver saver stoppers and polished sink flanges. A labor allowance also is available on replacements.

PHCC-NA members who install the disposers are eligible for warranty upgrades as long as they join In-Sink-Erator's Pro Circle program.

Apprentice Contest

Fifteen contestants were judged on their ability to rough-in water supply and drain lines, as well as a variety of fixtures. The PHCC-NA presented the top three winners with cash and other prizes, such as tools and work wear. They also received trophies resembling copper pipe from the Copper Development Association.

The top finishers were as follows:

    1st Place: Paul Vandeven, St. Louis.
    2nd Place: Robert L. Schlueter Jr., Cincinnati.
    3rd Place: Wintley Bailey, Coconut Creek, Fla.

Contractor Of The Year

In conjunction with the 22nd Annual PHCC-NA Convention, Delta Faucet Co. and the PHCC-NA announced the Plumbing Contractor and Plumbing Apprentice of the Year, prestigious awards recognizing excellence in the plumbing industry.

Pat Ellingson and Tom Hills, owners of Ellingson Plumbing, Heating & AC in Alexandria, Minn., were named Contractor of the Year. Nominated by the Minnesota Association of Plumbing-Heating-Cooling Contractors for their dedication and service, Ellingson and Hills also were named Minnesota PHCC Plumbing Contractor of the Year in February.

Three PHCC contractors received runners-up honors: Anthony Gemma of Lincoln, R.I. (first runner-up); Paul Nebrasky of Monroe, N.Y. (second runner-up); and James S. Steinle of Virginia Beach, Va. (third runner-up).

Danilo Rivera of Alexandria, Va., was named Plumbing Apprentice of the Year. Rivera enrolled in a local apprenticeship program in January. He ranked top of his class for the accelerated first-year apprentice program and was recently recognized as being "The Best of the Best" at a banquet for the graduating apprentices. Rivera received a $2,000 scholarship, a check for $500, along with a trophy.

New PHCC-NA Officers

Mary Garvelink, Commercial Design Engineering Ltd., Colorado Springs, Colo., was elected president; Jim Stack, Stack Plumbing Inc., Kirkland, Wash., was elected president-elect; Jo Wagner, CTO Inc., Harlingen, Texas, was elected vice president; and Tom Moore, Climate Control Inc., Leesburg, Ind., was elected secretary.