Mark Giebelhaus, Marlin Mechanical Corp., Phoenix, Ariz., and past president of the Plumbing-Heating-Cooling Contractors-National Association, was to receive Delta Faucet Co.’s Plumbing Contractor of the Year award, Oct. 2, during a lunch ceremony scheduled to be held during the PHCC-National Association’s annual convention in Las Vegas. (PM had advance notice of these awards and reported them before the actual events took place.)

The award recognizes contractors for endeavors and accomplishments that furthers the purpose of the PHCC-National Association.

In other awards due to be presented at the convention, the PHCC-National Association in conjunction with Bradford White also announced various 2003 scholarship winners:

  • Alabama — Katelyn D. Parkes, $1,700

  • California — Derek E. Biard, $1,300

  • Connecticut — Lauren E. Bowman, $1,550; Danielle M. Mansour, $1,250

  • Illinois — Nate Dickemann, $1,750; Alexander W. Hoefert, $1,350; Adrienne Martinez, $1,500; Melissa C. Martinez, $1,500

  • Maryland — Paul E. Zimmerman, $1,150

  • Massachusetts — Natasha E. Leary, $1,400; KerriAnn MacNeill, $1,150; Courtney L. Sell, $1,500; Ross Trethewey, $1,750

  • Nebraska — Kristin Bouwens, $1,600; Justin J. Kreifels, $1,500; Ann K. Prochaska, $1,300

  • New Hampshire — Hiliary Rankins, $1,000

  • New Jersey — Daniel McKeen, $1,650; Kyle R. Zabel, $1,200

  • New York — Stacy Dancesia, $1,200

  • Wisconsin — Anthony Denzin, $1,700

    The $3,000 Ginny Carlson Scholarship Award went to Ashely M. Bounds, North Carolina.

    Bradford White also presented the following Industry Awards:

  • First-place award of $1,700 went to Thomas M. Guelda Jr., Kentucky.

  • Second place award of $1,000 went to Tom McGuine, Wisconsin.

  • Third-place award of $800 went to Michael Heidler, Maryland.

    Also, American Standard presented a $1,500 scholarship to Jordan Kreifels, Nebraska.

    PHCC-National Association’s Educational Foundation also announced its 2003 scholarship winners. Each student will receive a college scholarship of up to $12,000 or $3,000 for up to four years at a community, technical or vocational school:

  • Jordan Helget, Ellis, Kan., intends to study mechanical engineering at Kansas State University.

  • Brennan Norris, Keithville, La., will attend Louisiana Tech University and study mechanical engineering.

  • Michael Reno, Phoenix plans to study business management at Paradise Community College in Arizona.

  • Clayton Saliba, San Antonio will attend Southwest Texas State University, studying business management.

  • David Taecker, Watertown, S.D. intends to study business management at Florida Gulf Coast University.

  • Bradley A. White, South Bend, Ind., plans to study architectural engineering at Milwaukee School of Engineering.

    PM will report on other winners recognized at PHCC-National Association, including the International Apprentice Contest and Auxiliary awards, in next month’s issue.